Reflection

No Time Like the Present

There’s no time like the present is a phrase used to suggest that there is no better time than now to do something.  Why wait until a new year or month to get something done?!

Well, that thought is great and all unless you have 169687932 things to do like working full-time, maintaining your house, sleeping, etc. right?

Goals and aspirations are all good until you realize that you have to fit them into your daily life!  Then, it gets a bit complicated.

I am the first one to admit that I will start off with all the motivation in the world to get some things done (workout, DIY projects, decorate the house, volunteer, entrepreneurship), but I allow my life to get in the way and what do ya know?    Several months later, I’ve made no head way and then at the end of the year I have not gotten much done and then proclaim that the next year ” will be my year!”

Well, guess what I’ve learned?  You won’t attain a goal if you have not made the time to do so and no new month, no new year, no new anything will do you any good if you do not have a plan.

I refer to my New Year’s Resolutions as my lifetime resolutions because they are honestly ongoing goals I’ve set for myself.   This year I have a plan typed up for each one and posting them on my refrigerator.

Here are just a few of my resolutions:

  1. Living a healthy lifestyle (working out, getting sleep managing stress)
  2. Building a stronger relationship with God.
  3. Growing and advancing in my career field.
  4. Spending more time with family and loved ones.
  5. Doing things that I love (DIY Projects, Decorating the Home, Blogging more)
  6. Entrepreneurship
  7. Cutting the relaxed hair off of my head!   (Okay, so this is not a lifetime resolution, but work with me here.)

These are goals that I will forever have because I never want to stop growing and never want to stop aiming to do better in all aspects of life.   Of course, i’ll have to adjust a plan or two, but a plan will keep me motivated!

So, as you are setting those New Year’s Resolutions, remember to also set up your action plan, leave the excuses to the side, and get to work!   Start now!

How do you plan to hold yourself accountable for your goals?  What are your New Year’s resolutions?  

I hope you all have a great New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

