Hair · Natural Hair Journey

Almost 16 Months Post-Relaxer! What I’ve Learned and What To Do From Here?!

You guyyysss!

It’s been almost 16 months since my last relaxer!  Woo hoo!  Bring out the confetti and the balloons!   Who’d of thunk it?!

It’s been a long time since my last hair post, so here goes!

I still have relaxed ends that I have been gradually clipping.   Usually only have been chopping off a 1/2 inch because I’m a wimp!   I now have about 6-7 inches of natural hair.  Some parts of my hair are getting to the 7 1/2 inch range.   I was supposed to get the rest of it chopped off this week, but going to push it back a little longer…perhaps,  a New Year’s chop?   We shall see!

In celebration, let’s discuss the things I’ve learned in this process.  I’m no hair guru, but I’m trying to help somebody out there!.

  1. Depending on your hair type (Pretty sure I’m a type 4A or 4B if you follow hair types), do NOT air dry your hair loosely without oil or product.  You will end up with a matted mess. I learned this the hard way at month 6. 😊
  2. Some of these popular products are awesome, but they don’t work for everybody.   I love me some Shea Moisture Deep Treatment Masque, but can’t say all of the popular Shea Moisture products work for me.   Ya know what I have fallen in love with??  The Design Essentials Leave-In Conditioner that has almond and avocado oil in it.   I know it’s not all natural, but it does wonders for my hair.
  3. Co-Washing is not as disgusting as I thought. My hair still feels clean.  I actually LOVE it.  My hair has been sooo soft and feels so healthy. I currently use the As I Am Coconut Co-Wash.  If I feel like I need shampoo, I use Creme of Nature’s sulfate-free shampoo.
  4. Apple Cider Vinegar rinse makes your curls pop!   It is awesome for removing product buildup!  ACV is a smelly son of a gun, but she will clean the heck out of your hair!
  5. The LOC method really works.  Ever since I have followed this, I haven’t had much issue with dry hair.
  6. Trying different hair concoctions is fun. I found one that I don’t think I will ever stop using.
  7. Not everyone will be supportive of your decision to transition to natural.  You’d be surprised at the emotions and conversations that natural hair brings out of people!  Stick to your guns.  The hair that God has blessed you with is not a bad thing in ANY environment.
  8. Using too much of something good can still mess with your hair.  I am pretty sure over usage of oils  caused extreme buildup in my hair which caused a bit of breakage.
  9. Finding a good, low-maintenance protective style really works!   This is how I’ve made it thus far.  My go-to style has been keeping my hair in twists and then wearing a wig (which I have become obsessed with), but also allowing my hair to breathe as well!
  10. Above all else, enjoy the journey!  There’s nothing like this process.  I am excited for the day that I am fully natural so that I can rock a Fro-Hawk. 🙂

Anyway, thanks for reading!  Taking this one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

