Personal

The Evolution of Friendships

Through the years, a lot of my friendships have changed.  Gradually, texts to go hang out went unanswered or everyone was busy, girls’ night outs got cancelled, or suddenly someone had something to do.   Some, I am still in contact with from time to time, but don’t actually see or hang out with.  Others, I don’t speak to or hear from at all.  It’s almost as if they have fallen off the face of the earth.

I used to wonder what I was doing wrong (I always thought I was a pretty fun person to be around. 🙂 ). I was feeling like I was reaching out and some were not reaching back and so I gave up on trying to hang out.  Maybe people assumed I was always with my husband which is funny because we’re not that type of couple.  We enjoy each other’s company.  He is my best friend, but we have our own lives and friendships as well.

But then I realized that maybe it wasn’t just me.  We were getting older, folks moved to other parts of town, were married, had kids, and had other priorities.  Maybe it’s just the natural way of things.   It doesn’t make it any easier, but it’s just the way of the world I guess.

I’ve gained some new friendships through different avenues such as neighbors, my husband,  and friends of friends.  I used to gain a lot of friendships at work, but when I began my current job, that was not really an option.  It’s a bit awkward to hang out with those that you supervise and so I don’t.

There is nothing like having the old friendships.  Those friends that have supported you through your lowest and celebrated with you during your highest points.

I don’t know what to say about those that I never hear from.

You want to know something positive I’ve noticed though?  No matter how long it’s been since I’ve seen some people, it’s like we never went a day without seeing each other.

7 thoughts on “The Evolution of Friendships

  1. That’s exactly where I’m at now. Most of my closest friends are in different towns (as I’ve met them along my schooling/training)…. but that friendship hasn’t faded at all. Terrific post. It was what I needed at this exact moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading! It is great to have people that you know are there no matter how near or far. It is something that has been on my heart for a long time. Funny enough, I received a text from someone I don’t get to see that often the same day I posted this and the next day we sat and talked for 3 hours over dinner as if time had never passed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

