Wisdom

2 Years of Marriage: A Reflection


Life has been busy and I haven’t really taken a moment to just breathe, write, and post much.  I have some things up my sleeves, so be on the look out! 🙂

Yesterday was a special day!  It was our 2 year wedding anniversary!  Woo hoo!  We made it!  Lol!

They say that your wedding day is the most important day of your life!    Yes, it is VERY significant, beautiful, life-changing, and memorable, but it’s the moments after you settle into married life that are the most beautiful.

What part of it is beautiful, you ask?  The growth and lessons you learn individually and together.  The memories that you build.  The accomplishments and milestones that you experience together.  The moment you realize that your spouse is truly your best friend.  In marriage, you truly are each other’s everything.  You’re each other’s therapist, comedian, cheerleader, coach, playmate, helpmate, and business partner.

Of course, it has it’s not so “beautiful” moments.   You know, it’s funny.  People suggest to do all of these things to prepare for marriage such as living together and pre-marital counseling, but nothing can truly prepare you for it 100%.   The truth is that as soon as you say “I do”, you become one.  It is a beautiful thing, but you are also taking two separate individuals who come from different households, who have lived their own life up to this point, and trying mold them into one being.

One day, you love the heck out of each other and the next you are ready to wrestle and not in a good way!

The biggest lesson I’ve learned in my 2 years of marriage?  Choose your battles!  Sounds cliché, but it’s true.   Why?   Well, you will have a million other battles to focus on and who has time to get caught up on the little ones?  No one. Nobody.  Not one soul.

Oh, and compromise!   Your spouse has feelings too.

Another lesson?

Have fun!!!!!  

This life is too short and we have made sure to rock out and party during these 2 years.  I have some of my most fun moments with him!

I am thanking God for a great husband, for this learning experience, and for all the blessings he has bestowed on us.

It has been an awesome 2 years and I can’t wait to see what the years after have in store for us.

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “2 Years of Marriage: A Reflection

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Marriage is such a beautiful thing…My husband and I are celebrating our 3rd year anniversary today (blog post coming after work ☺️) I can’t help but to echo the “pick your battles” sentiment. I think our “heated conversations” have decreased by about 50% from last year, simply because we’re learning to let go! I look forward to reading more about your growth! Great read!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow! Happy Anniversary to you!! Thank you so much! Choosing battles is always a challenge especially when you want to get your point across (me), but doing so has definitely reduced some high blood pressure lol. I look forward to reading your anniversary post!

    Like

  3. What a beautiful post! Thanks for growing my hope lol. Many people talk bad about life after marriage & that’s a bit discouraging. However, I still dream of experiencing marriage. Wishing you many more blessings in your union! Love the photo :).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

