Natural Hair Journey

Let it WHIP! Whip it baby!.

Soooo, I am determined to increase my new growth to 6 inches n the next 4 months.  I’m currently at 3.5.  🙂   I think I’ll be ready to chop the relaxer off by then!   I’ve been online like crazy looking for different concoctions and mixtures that will work on this hair of mine.   I do believe that soon I will get a sew-in.  I’ve been wearing wigs and LOVE them, but I take them off at night and then I’m obsessing over my hair lol.   On top of all of that, I have a habit of touching my hair which is no bueno!   If I get a full sew-in, I won’t do all of that obsessing.

ANYWHO (I don’t know why, but I’ve been using this word a lot lately), back to the topic of concoctions and mixtures.  A favorite product has been Shea Butter, but it comes in a very solid state, so I knew I needed to find out how everyone else was using this amazing product.  I found really good ideas on Pinterest including recipes for Whipped Shea Butter.

So, here is one I tried, but didn’t follow to a tee:

DIY Whipped Shea Butter – http://loveandtrash.com/diy-whipped-shea-butter/

Ingredients (I changed some measurements)

2 oz of coconut oil

1 teaspoon of Jojoba oil

4 oz of Shea Butter

Directions:

1) The recipe says to melt the Shea Butter in a heated bowl over hot water.  I didn’t follow that.  I just warmed the Shea Butter in the microwave in an old, plastic tupperware container for about 15 seconds to where it was just barely soft and stirred with a spoon.  You don’t want to microwave for too long or you will lose some of the benefits of the Shea Butter.

2) I then mixed in the Coconut oil and Jojoba Oil.

3) The recipe calls for a mixer, but umm we don’t have a mixer, so I grabbed a spoon! (I think we HAD one, but I’m sure I broke it at some point and didn’t remember to replace it..happens from time to time. 🙂 )

4) I put the Shea Butter/Coconut Oil/Jojoba Oil mixture in the fridge for a couple of hours as the instructions stated and which was necessary to put it into more of a solid state.  Anyway, the texture was slightly grainy, but I’m sure it wouldn’t have been so grainy if I had a mixer or actually mixed it longer.

This made enough to where I’m sure it will last about 2 or 3 weeks.

So the moment of truth!  I sprayed my hair with water, put in the mixture, twisted my hair, put my scarf on and went to bed.  I woke up the next day and wa-la!  Soft, moisturized hair.  I am planning to buy little product containers on Amazon so that I can store future mixtures into them, instead of storing them in tupperware.  😛

Anyway, I would recommend trying this.  There are other recipes where you add avocado oil and all that jazz.  Hey, mix in what you want and whatever works for you.

What have you tried?  Any recommendations?

2 thoughts on “Let it WHIP! Whip it baby!.

Leave a Reply

