Natural Hair Journey

Aphogee Protein Treatment

I finally did it.  I finally did a protein treatment on my hair.  I’ve had Aphogee 2-Step Treatment sitting in my cabinet for a hot minute, but never used it.  I love the Keratin 2-Minute Reconstructor and have used their shampoos, but had yet to try the protein treatment.  Let’s just say that I was in dire need!   Every since I began transitioning to natural, hair retention has been the big concern.  I’ve had hair loss before way back in the day and have always feared that happening again.  Since I know that transitioning can be crucial,  I knew I needed to go ahead and try.

So, I did a pre-poo (have I mentioned how much I hate that word?) with Silk Essentials Conditioning shampoo, washed with Creme of Nature Sulfate-Free Shampoo, and dun dun dun……………..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In came the Aphogee 2-Step Protein Treatment.   Now honestly, I was nervous.   Protein treatments sound intense and I’d read reviews online of people not liking this one or their hair not taking too well to the treatment, but I figured, “here goes nothing!”

Anyway, let me just say that this stuff stinks.  Smells like slight B.O. and it stung a little, but not that “OMG I’m getting a relaxer, but been scratching my head” sting.  Just a slight one.  🙂

The instructions say to sit under a hooded dryer.  Well, I gave mine away long ago, so I just turned on my hand dryer on low heat and waited for the stuff to harden on my hair.  I left it in for about 15 minutes and then rinsed it out.   I also followed the instructions and used the Aphogee Balancing Moisturizer.

Anyway, afterwards my hair wasn’t extra soft,  but it did feel sturdy and different so that was awesome and exciting!  I sprayed Motions leave-in conditioner in my hair so that it will have some fluff when it dried, twisted it, and then went to sleep.

Two days later it feels extra strong and I’ve noticed a lot less shedding, so I’m excited!   I will definitely be using this every 6 weeks like it suggests.

I highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

