Natural Hair Journey

I put vinegar in my hair…No, really…

So, I started feeling as if I may have some product build-up in my hair and it was driving me crazy.  I’ve been washing it with Sulfate-free shampoo the last few weeks, but it still felt as if it needed something else.

I read online and saw a YouTube video about cleansing your hair with Apple Cider Vinegar.  I know..it sounds disgusting and smelly, but the results appeared to be awesome on the hair of the women who swore by it.

So, I grabbed a spray bottle, poured a half of cup of Apple Cider Vinegar in the bottle, filled the rest of the bottle with water, shook it up, parted my hair in sections, and sprayed and drenched my hair with the concoction.  I made sure to have a towel around my shoulders.  The smell was…interesting.

I left it in for about 10 minutes to allow it to really penetrate.  The smell, again, was…interesting.   I  wish I could’ve taken a picture of my husband’s look of disgust when he walked into the bathroom.  His words, “why are you pouring vinegar over everything?”  Lol!   When I explained that I hadn’t poured vinegar over everything and actually just had it in my hair, he looked even more disgusted. 🙂

Anyway, after 10 minutes, I washed the stuff out of my hair and y’all (I’m a Texan, so you will see this word often throughout my blog) my hair felt so soft and light and clean.   Also, the curls/coils of the natural part of my transitioning hair felt so defined.  It was amazing.  I would definitely do this again.  I wouldn’t do it too often, but seems like something great to do every couple of months.

I did a co-wash afterwards and my hair felt soooo soft and healthy.   I definitely recommend this.  I mean, yeah you will smell like vinegar for a few minutes and the smell is intense, but it is a cheap way to cleanse and clarify your hair, so try it.   Trust me. 🙂

Credit for Apple Cider Vinegar rinse:  LiveNaturallyLove:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axfenLwYM0w&list=WL&index=48

4 thoughts on “I put vinegar in my hair…No, really…

Leave a Reply

