Personal

31 and Childless

When I was the ripe old age of 28, I had a person ask me if I had any children.  I responded, “No, I don’t have any yet”.  This woman was 21 years old and had just had her first baby with her on-again/off-again boyfriend.  She looked at me in astonishment and uttered the words, “Do you not want any children?” .

I looked at her taken aback and said, “Um, yes I do.  I’d like to be married first.”  At this time, my husband and I were still boyfriend/girlfriend.

She looked back at me bewildered and changed the subject.  So, now 28 is too old NOT to have children?

I am now 31.  Interesting, seeing as how I have many friends (most of us now being in our early 30s), that do not have children.

Do I want kids?  Yes, of course I do, but I do not regret that I have waited so long.  I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my 31 childless years. My life has happened the way God has meant it to happen.   Pregnancy has not happened yet, but God-willing it will.

When you’re in your 30s and enjoying time with your husband, you can’t help but wonder what life will be like after kids.  Life doesn’t end, but it will definitely change.

Yeah, you’re definitely not getting any younger and you constantly have people reminding you of that (I’m sure you love that. :-P), but you also want to make sure you’re ready.  Pressure from family and friends can get to you, but just remember that no one can dictate what will happen in your life.

For many of us, pregnancy often just happens.  So, if it happens, it happens.  We will be ready soon and definitely want the children, but it will happen when it is supposed to happen.

In this time frame of my childless home life,  I will just continue to do what I have been doing.  When God blesses me with children, we will go from there.

Leave a Reply

