Relationships

Can Another Person Complete You?

The words “you complete me” or “he makes me complete” sound nice and romantic, but should you really rely on someone to complete you?

You should be a complete person before you commit to someone.  In a way, it’s saying that if that person ever left you, you’d be incomplete.  You would not be whole.  Basically, you are only half of a person without that person.  Relying on someone to complete puts a lot of pressure on that person.

If you do not love yourself, if you cannot stand on your own, then are you ready to commit to someone else?  We all have our flaws and things that we may need to work on and definitely need to grow in, but for the most part I would think that you’d be complete enough without another person.

I call my husband my better half.  He makes me better.  He complements me, but I’d like to think that I was a complete person before him.  I knew who I was and what I wanted out of life.

Just some food for thought from my mind, so serve me your food for thought.   What do you think?  Can someone complete you?

2 thoughts on “Can Another Person Complete You?

Leave a Reply

